My Jesus I love Thee

 

This morning we sang this dear old song in worship. Unlike other times when I sang it, the words became real in a way they never had before. Sometimes that happens to us when we least expect it. Sometimes while everyone else is singing and blending voices we just bow our heads and let the tears course down our faces as we worship Jesus….

My Jesus I love Thee, I know Thou art mine

For thee all the follies of sin I resign

My gracious Redeemer, My savior art Thou

If ever I love Thee, My Jesus tis now

The more we know Him the more we love Him. There is no in between. His sustaining love causes us to drop weight of of sin from our fingers and reach our hands to the Father.  When we see Him as our Savior, we realize that He is all we need and even more than we can comprehend. Our hearts are overwhelmed with a deep love for this Jesus who rescues us from an eternity without the glory of God. And we love Him for it, more than we did yesterday.

I love thee because Thou  hast first loved me

And purchased my pardon on Calvary’s tree

I love Thee for wearing the thorns on Thy brow

If ever I love thee, my Jesus tis now.

Even in his best explanation The Preacher Man does not fully describe the terrible death our Savior bought for us.  Maybe we will never know the full cost, but the glimpses of Calvary that we see in this life makes us stop in our tracks. Even though we don’t fully know, but rather just know in part, it is still enough to cause our hearts to overflow with love for the God Man who became sin. And we love Him for it, more than we did yesterday.

In mansions of glory and endless delight

I’ll ever adore Thee in heaven so bright

I’ll sing with  glittering crown on my brow

If ever I love thee my Jesus tis now

After the end of days when we reach our heavenly home will we think back on the days of life on the earth when we thought we loved Him? Will we think of those times of worship when our heart felt like they would explode with the fullness of the words we sang? Will we realize we had no idea of the glory that awaits us? Will we see Jesus face to face and reach up to grab the crown that sits on head just to place it at His feet? Will we finally know what it means to love our Savior?  If ever I love you Jesus, it was now, this morning, in the middle of a crowded sanctuary with the voices of my brothers and sisters lifted up as a sweet sound in your ears.You are worth it.

And we will love Him for it, more than we did yesterday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

