You were already there

As is our Friday night ritual, The Mister watched “Gold Rush” while I knitted and all seemed right in the world. I love him, but I am under no pretense  that he would not trade me in for a summer of gold mining and a chance to run “Big Red” or help Jack weigh on some gold flakes. 

Last night we watched with rapt attention as the miners discovered a double layer of pay dirt where “billions of years prior”  the evolutionary process caused a pressure change and the land suddenly folded back on itself……or if you are simple minded like me, a world wide flood similar to the one in Genesis 6 did the same thing. We won’t go there because no one likes their favorite show to be challenged by Scripture because then what in the world would we have left to watch on a Friday night?

And just like that…..Psalms 90 popped in my head. In an effort to prepare myself for the end times while simultaneously addressing my anxiety issues, I decided to memorize Psalms 90. And let me you, memorization at 46 is much different than when I memorized the Preamble to the Constitution in 4th grade, which by the way I can still quote…” We the People…”  I have been pondering and writing and Reading those first two verses all week now and was beginning to think it was useless. However, while the Preamble is a rich heritage of every American, the Word of God is a breathing living entity and suddenly the warmth of the Holy Spirit ignited a phrase I had wrestled with all week “….before the mountains were brought forth….from everlasting to everlasting You are God.”

Before the gold- filled mountains of the Yukon were formed by a world wide catastrophic flood, God was there…..

Sometimes we need to stand in awe. Sometimes we need to set aside the knitting needles, turn off the TV and just be in awe. Sometimes we need to ponder the magnitude of an eternal God. We need to think that He has always existed and that same God loves me and is concerned with how He can show Himself powerful on my behalf. Sometimes the greatness of God need to weigh us down until we are speechless. 

Stand in awe, even  if it means getting up from the TV on a Friday night and stepping outside in the January cold, looking at the stars and realizing they have been in their spot since The Creator spoke them there. 

Realizing His Worth can only be done when we realize His power…..omnipotent is not just a word…..

“…before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you have formed the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.” Psalms 90:2

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

