Dear God,

Do you ever wonder if God will really come through in the dark times? You have heard that God gives “sustaining grace” but what does that look like? Take a look…..this letter, written by my dear friend is what sustaining looks like in real life.  How do I know? Because I know and love Lauren. She is my soul sister and she is simply not this good without God’s grace.  There is no way these words are hers….they are God’s sustaining grace…..

And God? grow my faith like Laurens!

Dear God-

I don’t know that I have ever wanted things so badly for other people than I do tonight. It literally causes my mind to spin, my stomach to hurt, and my heart to beat out of control. I’m not just talking about a cure for rectal cancer, I’m talking about the unbelievable amount of anger, sadness and pain that is hitting so close to home for so many I know and love.

Here are some lessons I’ve learned in my 32 years…

Pain is real, but peace is available.

When hurt is close, the Healer longs to be closer.

God never starts anything He doesn’t plan on finishing.

He will use people only He can, in a way that only He can, for a calling much greater that we could have ever imagined.

It’s not about us. Ever. When we’re serving others, we have less time to think about ourselves.

God does not need to be defended, His cross was, is, and will always be enough.

Good things happen to bad people…every.single.day. Why, you ask? Why not? That is my rebuttal.

Without the valleys, we could not reach, see, or appreciate the mountains.

God is not out to get us. He loves us. We live in a fallen world full of sin and the freedom to choose…bitter or better. Jesus came to offer hope. It’s ours for the taking.

I don’t have to understand it to believe it. I don’t even have to like it to accept it. It’s called faith.

Life is not a game. We don’t get to play around forever and then when the fun is over, decide to grow up. We were called to do much more than play, we were called to live. We get one shot. People are watching…people that we could’ve never dreamed are in the stands. Some are cheering. Some are skeptical. And others, they are hopeful. They are wondering…is there one? One who will walk out their talk? One who will praise Him in the wins and praise Him in the losses? I know that people want to see real, genuine, walk it out Christianity. Don’t say it, do it.
Be it. Live it.

You’re saved or you’re not. You have faith or you don’t. God is real or He is a liar. At the end of the day we don’t get all of our questions answered, hardships explained, nor are we entitled to have an understanding of all things spiritual. We have to become content to walk by faith and not by sight.

“To love God and love people, that’s the center of the mark.”
(Song by 4Him)

Lauren

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

