One day you’ll understand

I was the child that drove the patience of my mother to the limit. “Why” was not just a question for me, it was a key that I shoved into the lock of every puzzling  door in my life.  Many times she would pull out the faithful standby answer of all mothers through the ages….” Because I said so”

Jesus the everlasting patient Older Brother lovingly shares a promise to the Peter in John13:7.  It’s a promise that I could use in my life:

   “You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.”

Let that roll around in your mind for a minute.  In a simple phrase spoken by the All Knowing One, He seeks to quiet our questions.  That promise is given to still our fears.  If we believe what He says is true then our anger at the unfairness of it all can melt like ice on a hot sidewalk in Georgia in the month of August.

But maybe like me, you find it difficult to walk ahead in the not knowing.  In the not understanding is where we are tempted to doubt, or fear or question. Does He really care?  Is He even there? Does He understand this is difficult? painful?

The hardest thing is understanding this: He owes us no explanation.  He does not love us less when He keeps the reasons to Himself. After all there is no doubt he loved Peter, yet he did not let him in on the why’s and how’s of the crucifixion.

This one statement is infused with a love so thick it  seeps  through the letters and into Peter’s heart….

You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.”

Peter pushes back against this answer with Peter-like indignation.  Maybe “one day you’ll understand ” is not enough for him. Maybe sometimes it’s not enough for me. You believe….or you don’t.  You walk on….or you sit and cry. 

Is it enough for me to know that I can trust what He is doing? That one day He will let me understand the how’s and why’s?  Do I really believe its all for my good? I can choose to believe or doubt, but I’ll do one or the other. 

God is still good when He reveals or when He conceals. In His love He gives us a promise. In His love He soothes our anger and wipes away our fear:

You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will.”

And for me,  for today, it’s enough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

