Not a care in the world

I have a friend who is the eternal optimist. She always looks on the bright side of everything. She seems to float through life without a care in the world. I’m jealous of her sometimes.  I have always had an unwanted visitor never more than two steps behind me. He taunts me with “what if’s”.  He reminds me of my weaknesses and the potential for catastrophe on any given day. His name is Anxiety and I am trying to learn to live out some sort of peace treaty with him.  You see, for forty four years he has dogged my steps and kept me up at night more times than I can count.

Today, I read from one of my favorite authors, John Piper. He is perhaps the greatest theologian of our day and his writings are deeply entrenched in the Word. He shared his struggles with anxiety. Oddly, it is comforting to hear when those spiritual giants we admire struggle with things I do.

Cast all you anxiety on him, for he cares about you. I Peter 5:7

 

Not “repent of your anxiety” or ” you will never struggle with anxiety if you are truly a Child of God” but rather this passage assumes that yes, in fact all of us struggle with anxiety.  Not if, but when anxiety comes……

Cast it on God………tell him all about it.

Lord, I’m scared…..

what if I lose my job?

or get cancer?

or my children wander away from the faith?

or I am insignificant in Kingdom work?

or I end up alone? or I fail?

“….because he cares for you.”

Herein lies the secret to overcoming anxiety says Dr. Piper. Knowing that He cares for you melts the icy grip of anxiety from our frail human hearts.  He cares for you.

Because troubles will come…

You will lose you job or get cancer. Your children will walk away, but come back, or maybe not. Your husband or wife may leave and you may utterly fail. but in all of it, He cares for us.  Not bound our human rules of “give and take” He portions us that which makes us more like His Son. We walk through all sorts of trials with the assurance that He cares for us.

And THAT is what makes us lift our heads and look into the face of LOVE.

Anxieties will come, worse actual trials by fire, but in all of it, He cares for us. A love that is so binding we can never be separated from Him. and in that knowledge we cast every care on Him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

