Summer Reading Book Club

It’s time for summer reading book club.  This is how it works: I share with you in this post my plans for summer reading  and you respond with  critiques of the chosen reading, and added suggestions of your own. (**please no spoilers**)

1. Summer bible study: “Stepping Up: A Journey through Psalms of Ascent” by Beth Moore

.Image

 

Somehow I have managed to miss this bible study. No one, except maybe Kay Arthur, in womens bible studies digs as deep into Scripture as Beth Moore.  I plan on using Lifeway’s downloadable DVD sessions. If you are not in a bible study for the summer, send me a message and we can do this one together via email.

 

2. “The Enemy” by Lee Childs

.Image

 

I downloaded a free Jack Reacher audiobook from itunes last fall and got HOOKED on Jack Reacher.  Shortly after finishing this mesmerizing book, the movie with Tom Cruise came out which was a bitter disappointment.  Apparently there is a multi book series out there for action and suspense hungry readers.  So here we go,  I’m planning on reading my way through “The Enemy” and follow this ex-military “save the day and rescue the lady” hero for as long as it takes me to get done. Don’t you love a series? It helps my “end of the book blues” to know there is another sequel waiting on me.  Any Jack Reacher fans out there? 

3. “Who Do You Think You Are?” by Mark Driscoll

 Image

 

 Because it’s Mark Driscoll and because I have listened to his sermons on this series for the past few months and because  well, he’s probably my most favorite person to listen to.  The very name of the series tells me that this book is about me and God. I’m in to that in this season of my life. I can’t handle  “get busy and work, work ,work right now” type books and this one, if anything like his sermon series will be refreshingly real about who I am in Christ. I’ll let you know if the book is better than the messages.

 

4. “The Storyteller” by Jodi Picoult

Image

 

Because, really? can you enjoy a summer without having your heart ripped out by Jodi Picoult? Her books are a cult membership I have tried in vain to break free from. 

5. “Falling Upward” by Richard Rohr

Image

This book challenges the traditional American view of aging which is that the second half, (of which I now find myself) is about end of career, beginning of health issues, children leaving. Instead Rohr suggest that the second half of life is when we really live, when we really fully begin to be in a place to understand who God is. He states that the first half of life is merely preparation for the second half.  Yeah, I like the sound of that.

 

So have you read anything on my list? What did you think? What are you reading this summer?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Summer Reading Book Club

  1. Deb

    Currently reading The Storyteller…… yes rip my heart out! Love all your suggestions and am going to look for them! If you havent read Chasing Fireflies…… need to!

Leave a Reply

