Through different eyes

Last night I had a conversation with a good friend of mine. He was excitedly sharing how God had really opened his eyes to truths in Scripture and it had radically changed his perception of, well, everything. At the end of the text conversation I added…” it’s like you are reading Scriptures that you’ve read for years, but through new eyes, and the words come alive and jump off the page.”

“Yes! That is how I feel!” He text back.

And so I thought about how differently the Bible looks to me from when I was a little girl, or even from just ten years ago. Scriptures that I had committed to memory somehow can turn into technicolor script and leap off the pages.

What makes the difference? The Scriptures have not changed, although I admit, it’s a lot easier to understand and memorize now that I use NIV.
The Scripture is the same. Not one letter or period has moved position from when I was a girl standing up, knees knocking, in school to recite a chapter at a time. Even now, I forget that I memorized a passage until I hear someone read a part from King James and suddenly, like a rush, my mind and lips follow the cadence of the thee’s and thou’s.
I have learned, like my friend raised in church like me and just now understanding the beauty of God’s sovereignty, that the difference is how I see it, how I perceive it.

Too often, we read with our minds already made up about who God is, what He is capable of, what He wants from us.
But sometimes when like Apostle Paul, the writer of a beautiful portion of our New Testament, we echo a prayer like the one found in Colossian 1:9-10:

For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God….

And here is the secret for new eyes, the Spirit enables us to see within the Word what our human eyes and mind miss. Like every detail of our lives, we realize that it is all of God, our love, our devotion and our understanding originate and end in Him. When we read the Bible just as it is, without influence of other’s opinions, without leaning on what we have heard or learned, but just using the power of the Spirit to read and understand it’s amazing what happens. We find treasures unseen.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Through different eyes

  1. diane

    Yes, there comes a time when, if you really want to develop a close relationship with the great GOD of all that is , HE’ll come close to you.

Leave a Reply

