My Ebenezer

stone
My absolute most favorite song is “Come Thou Fount”. When the David Crowder band released their remake I nearly made myself sick by playing it over and over. Who could not love such beautiful, God-exalting words like…….

“……Tune my heart to sing Thy praise.” Because He constantly must redirect our hearts back to Him.
“……Teach me some melodious sonnet, sung by flaming tongues above” If for a moment we could peer into the heavenlies we would be awestruck. It’s one thing to read Revelations describe the six- wing cherubims surrounding the throne singing “Worthy, Worthy, Worthy is the One who was, and is and is to come.”! But imagine if your ear could hear the overwhelming praise and worship of fiery tongued beings created for the sole purpose of singing His praise. I want to know that melodious sonnet, for no human pen could do it justice.
“….oh to grace how great a debtor daily I’m constrained to be.” The debt is mammoth. I am utterly undone before such a God that extends grace in the form of His Son, struck down, cruelly mauled for me. I am constrained to follow Him, and the debt is unpayable. Instead of payment I will love Him with all I have.
“……Let thy goodness like a fetter, bind my wandering heart to Thee.” When I see His goodness, it mysteriously binds my heart to Him so that I am literally longing to be in His presence. When I don’t long to be near Him, my heart is usually found bound to small insignificant dust of this world.
“…….Here I raise my Ebenezer.” From I Samuel 7:12, as Samuel declared that God has helped the Israelites thus far he builds an alter and calls it Ebenezer. Lord, I raise my Ebenezer.  I sit here tonight in wonder of what You have “done so far” So far, you have extended grace to a selfish, undeserving woman. You have given her what she was too ignorant to know to ask for. You have been oh so good thus far to me. So tonight, I raise my Ebenezer. Tonight me and The Mister say, “remember that time…” and again and again tonight we recount how You have helped us thus far.
“…..Hither by Thy help I’ve come, and I hope by Thy good pleasure, safely to arrive at home” Grant it to be so Lord Jesus, Grant it to be so. Bring us into Your Kingdom. We wait and long to see You, to be near you in your physical presence so that our heart aches. One day….I hope soon…. we will safely arrive at home.

 

Come Thou Fount

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

