Promises kept

Yesterday morning I decided to run at work, a little track right across from my office. It is a .3 mile loop  so I decided it was perfect for a short run. As I was heading into mile 2, the sun was burning the mist of the small pond that is in the center and this is what I saw:

Breath taking. At that very moment, as my sweaty hands clicked a picture with my cell phone, God whispered into my spirit, “I keep every promise.”

And He does. Throughout my horrific, hellacious day, God’s voice spoke over and over to me, sometimes in my mind, sometimes through the voice of others, and reminded me of promises that He has made to me. Promises like:

….all my promises are for you, and your children who are far off, for the Lord has called you unto Himself. Acts 2:39

…….whatever you ask in my name, I will do it. Matt. 21:22

…..don’t lose heart, for what you cannot see is producing a huge eternal payoff.I Cor. 4:17

…….He heals broken heart and binds up wounds. Ps. 147:3

…..He is a strong  tower, the righteous run to Him and they are safe. Prov. 18:10

……My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and salvation, my stronghold, I will not be shaken. Ps 62:5-6

Sometimes the difference between letting go and plunging into the dark waters of despair, or holding on for dear life to your raft is a promise.

You know it yourself, you have dug your nails into a promise of God and held on for dear life.  All God’s promises are yes and amen in Christ. What is your promise on a  dark day?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

